Join a Committee header

The MAG has many opportunities for members to get involved by joining a committee. Committees typically meet once a month or more often as needed. 

If you are interested in joining a committee, please contact the MAG.

Advocacy & Communications Committee

  • The Advocacy & Communications Committee will oversee the MAG’s advocacy and communications goals and strategies.  Responsibilities include:
    • Interfacing with merchant trade associations and media
    • Promoting awareness on initiatives to members and sponsors
    • Representing the MAG at industry events.
    • Promoting the mission and goals of the MAG
    • Providing oversight of the Newsletter Editorial Board and the Website Task Force
  • Chairs: Kelly Andrus (EG-America), Dean Sheaffer (Boscov's)

Advocacy & Communications Committee Roster

Newsletter Editorial Board

  • The Editorial Board is responsible for the approval of the articles for the quarterly newsletter and website.

Newsletter Editorial Board Roster

  • Scott Calhoun (Marriott Vacations Worldwide Corporation)
  • Kara Kazazean (Walmart)
  • John Barbour (Phillips 66)
  • Dean Sheaffer (Boscov's Department Store LLC)

 Website Task Force
  • The Website Task Force is responsible for the guidance, mindshare and ideation on the MAG website under the overall direction of the Communication Committee.

Website Task Force Roster

  • Chair: Randy Gibbons (Southwest Airlines Company)
  • Kelly Andrus (EG America)
  • Erika Curtis (GROWMARK, Inc.)
  • Sonia Jain (Redbox Automated Retail, LLC)
  • Sue Knotts (Wakefern Food Corp.)
  • Alok Mathur (Hughes Network Systems, LLC)

    Collaboration Committee

    • The Collaboration Committee has responsibility to Identify, prioritize, and execute strategies to improve payments operational challenges relevant to merchant members through ongoing collaboration with stakeholders in the payments ecosystem including the network brands and acquirers.
    • Chairs: Eric O'Brien (Dunkin' Brands, Inc.), Alexandra Lara (The Walt Disney Company), Ken Grogan (Wakefern)

            Collaboration Committee Roster

    Technical Task Force

    • The Technical Task Force provides technical guidance under the overall direction of the Collaboration Committee
    • Chair: Itai Sela (CEO, B2 USA)

     Education Committee

    • The primary goals of the Education Committee are to:
    • Reduce the learning curve for new payments professionals via development of a Payments 101 course
    • Develop and provide tools for internal payments education of member C-Suite level leadership
    • Promote education and sharing of best practices among membership
    • Educate members on payments acceptance via:
    • Webinars
    • Educational sessions at MAG conferences
    • How-to guides on technical issues
    • Special Interest Groups (SIGs)

    Education Committee Roster:

    • Chair: Gina Powers (Dunkin' Brands, Inc.)
    • Mitch Beining (Marathon Petroleum Company LP)
    • Charles Ellert (Verizon Communications)
    • Peter Jessiman (7-Eleven, Inc.)
    • Alok Mathur (Hughes Network Systems, LLC)
    • Paul Raymond (Aaron's, Inc.)
    • Dana Railsback (Giant Eagle, Inc.)
    • Dean Sheaffer (Boscov's)
    • Linda Smith (Sheetz)

      Engagement Committee

      • The main responsibilities of the Engagement Committee is to:
        • Promote the mission and goals of the MAG through MAG conferences
        • Implement strategies to lead the MAG to its membership and sponsorship goals.

       Engagement Committee Roster

      • Co-Chair:  Barry Hanen (Walgreens) 
      • Co-Chair: Dee O’Malley (Best Buy)
      • Erika Curtis (GROWMARK, Inc.) 
      • Robert Goldberg (Universal, Orlando)
      • Kathy Hanna (The Kroger Co.)
      • Chris Priebe (Southwest Airlines Company)
      • Rod Tos (Chevron Products Co.)
      • Brent Cirinelli (Barnes & Noble College)
      • Alok Mathur (Hughes Network Systems, LLC)
      • Gina Powers (Dunkin' Brands, Inc.)
      • Robert Ritchie (CxLoyalty)

      Finance Committee

      • The Finance Committee is responsible for review of all financial records. It makes recommendations to the Board of Directors on issues of finance. The Committee will supervise MAG policies for Accounts Payable, Audit and Investment.
      • The Committee oversees the work of the MAG's administrative services provider. The Committee is responsible for drafting a budget and presenting it to the Board for approval on an annual basis.

      Finance Committee Roster

      • Chair: Chris Priebe (Southwest Airlines Company)
      • Denis Bouchard (The Wendy's Company)
      • Kathy Hanna (The Kroger Co.)
      • Robert Goldberg (Universal Orlando)

      Innovation Committee

      The primary goals of the Innovation Committee include:

      • Facilitate innovation through FinTechs though active and strategic engagement
      • Create the environment needed to allow merchant’s technical resources to be engaged in ongoing payment discussions
      Innovation Committee Roster

      • Chair: Jamie Henry (Walmart)
      • Paul Raymond (Aaron's)
      • Bryan Green (Chick-fil-A)
      • Matt Kowalewski (Dunkin' Brands)
      • Robin Leidenthal (eBay)
      • Adarsh Ani - (HEB)
      • Marquis Craig - (HEB)
      • Dan Pehrson - (Redbox)
      • Jason Dunn (The Walt Disney Company)
      • Justin Staskiewicz (Whataburger)